Anderson .Paak Brings His Cali Vibes To Chicago At His House Of Vans Show


Photos Credit: Daniel Boczarski / @DanielBoczarski

Vans continued their Vans House Parties summer concert series at House of Vans with Anderson. Paak curating this time around. It was the most popular one yet, with RSVP selling out almost immediately when they became available on the website and over 2,000 people showing up to the venue with no guaranteed entry.

For those lucky enough to get in were greeted with free ombre shirts commemorating the concert. Like other Vans House Parties events, Goose Island Beer was flowing and you could hunt for cards to get free custom vans. This one featured art by Dewey Saunders and a photo opportunity to take a picture with a botanical themed drum set with a neon “Yes Lawd!” sign in the background.


The opening acts that Anderson. Paak picked were Kadhja Bonet, who was featured on the opening track from last year’s Oxnard, and his band The Free Nationals. They definitely set the vibe for the show since they are literally part of Anderson’s aesthetic and sound.

Despite the heat, the crowd, which included comedian Hannibal Buress, went insane when Anderson came out.  While some people tend to par down their production when playing smaller venues, Anderson had his whole full band, back up singers, and drum set that he hopped on for several songs. He also played a full set, not a condensed version for this free show. Even though Anderson had released two albums in the past few months, he played around with his whole discography. For example, he opened with “Heart Don’t Stand a Chance” from 2016’s Malibu and even played around on the keyboard, playing 2Pac and Dr. Dre’s “California Love” and Kanye West’s “Can’t Tell Me Nothing.”


While the almost two hour set was fun, uplifting and full of dancing, the night ended on a bit of a somber note with Anderson playing and dedicating Mac Miller’s “Dang!” to the late artist. It was a celebration of a life cut too short that included positive vibes and reflection.

Check out the set list below of the show:

  1. Heart Don’t Stand a Chance
  2. Saviers Road
  3. Come Down
  4. Tints
  5. King James
  6. 6 Summers
  7. Glowed Up
    (Kaytranada cover)
  8. Reachin’ 2 Much
  9. Keyboard Solo
    (T-NAVA, including Can’t Tell Me Nothing, California Love)
  10. Make It Better
  11. Put Me Thru
  12. (Unknown)
  13. Jet Black
  14. Suede
    (NxWorries song)
  15. Bubblin’
  16. Milk n’ Honey
  17. Come Home
  18. Am I Wrong
  19. Dang!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s